The ArtsGames Commission of Dance is comprised of the worlds’ top Dance organizers and administrators. In collaboration with the International Dance Organization, the ArtsGames has appointed its first Dance Commissioner, Mr. Michael Wendt, supported by the Honourary President of the International Dance Organization, Mr. Bill Fowler.

The Dance Commission is responsible for the selection of categories of competition and the rules and regulation for qualifying for the 2017 ArtsGames. All competitors in the dance category must either qualify through an existing IDO sanctioned event or through selection by ArtsGames Scouts at large. For a complete list of IDO competitions please refer to their website.

Further details on wild card entries selected by ArtsGames Scouts at large will be made available to you following the annual ArtsGames Commission of Dance Annual General Meeting (AGM) 2016.


  • The Classics

  • European (Ballet)
  • Indian (Bollywood)
  • Middle Eastern (Ethnic Folk)
  • Latino (Flamenco)
  • African
  • Asian
  • Indigenous

  • Contemporary

  • Jazz
  • Tap
  • Modern
  • Hip-Hop

  • Duets

  • Salsa
  • Cha Cha (Caribbean)
  • Tango

  • Demonstration Events

  • Wheel Chair Dancing
  • Universal Percussive
  • Stepping
  • Clogging